Carduccci String Quartet.


Saturday 15 July 7.30 pm
Picture Gallery, Paxton House

Shostakovich ~ String Quartet No 1 in C
Pärt ~ Summa
Glass ~ String Quartet No 3 ‘Mishima’
Shostakovich ~ String Quartet No 4 in D
Ravel ~ Introduction & Allegro

In 2015, the award-winning Carducci Quartet performed the complete cycle of Shostakovich’s fifteen string quartets across the UK and in the USA and Colombia, marking the 40th anniversary of the composer’s death. These masterworks move from the optimism and reminiscence of childhood to the pain and hardship suffered under Soviet oppression. They are contrasted in this programme with the gently hypnotic works of Arvo Pärt and Philip Glass, and the performance concludes with Ravel’s gloriously sunny Introduction and Allegro, for which the quartet is joined by this afternoon’s performers.

‘‘Supreme clarity, focus and precision” –The Guardian

Tickets £25.00 (concessions £12.50)

Approximate duration: 2 hrs

Buffet suppers in the Hayloft Gallery from 6.00 pm – tickets £24.00

Click to book online: Concert | Click to book buffet supper

Find our more about the artists:
Carduccci String Quartet

Home  >  Programme  >  Carduccci String Quartet  >   Image by Paul Harris Photography Terms & Conditions | Sitemap | Contact us